Home Main Story Entertainment Who Are The Congressmen That Voted No To The ABS-CBN Franchise Renewal?

Who Are The Congressmen That Voted No To The ABS-CBN Franchise Renewal?

Who Are The Congressmen That Voted No To The ABS-CBN Franchise Renewal?

Eighty five representatives in the Congress have decided on the fate of 11,000 employees on a historical Friday afternoon, as they decide on ABS-CBN’s petition to renew its 25-year legislative franchise.

In order to fully defend their case before the panel, a month-long series of hearings were conducted at the House of Representatives (HOR).

Thirteen hearings later, the eighty five congressmen have made up their minds: 70 refused to grant the franchise, 11 voted yes, 2 inhibited, and 1 abstained.

These are the 11 lawmakers who voted yes to the ABS-CBN franchise renewal:

1. Bienvenido Abante Jr, Manila 6th District
2. Carlos Isagani Zarate, Bayan Muna party-list
3. Christopher De Venecia, Pangasinan 4th District
4. Edward Vera Perez Maceda, Manila 4th District
5. Gabriel Bordado Jr, Camarines Sur 3rd District
6. Jose “Ping-Ping” Tejada, North Cotabato 3rd District
7. Lianda Bolilia, Batangas 4th District
8. Mujiv Hataman, Basilan
9. Sol Aragones, Laguna 3rd District
10. Stella Luz Quimbo, Marikina 2nd District
11. Vilma Santos-Recto, Batangas 6th District

Meanwhile, here are the 70 congressmen who voted against:

1. Rep Abraham Tolentino
2. Rep. Antonio Albano
3. Rep. Faustino Michael Dy
4. Repm Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar
5. Rep. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado
6. Rep. Faustino Dy V
7. Rep. Dale Malapitan
8. Rep. Eric Martinez
9. Rep. Divina Grace Yu
10. Rep. Julienne Baronda
11. Rep. Anthony Peter Crisologo
12. Rep. Luis Ferrer IV
13. Rep. John Marvin Nieto
14. Rep. Strike Revilla
15. Rep. Samantha Louise Alfonso
16. Rep. Rolando Valeriano
17. Rep Joaquin Chipeco Jr.
18. Rep. Eduardo Gullas
19. Rep. Eleandro Jesus Madrona
20. Rep Frederick Siao
21. Rep. Ian Paul Dy
22. Rep. Gil Acosta
23. Rep. Weslie Gatchalian
24. Rep. Prescious H. Castelo
25. Rep. Alyssa Sheena Tan
26. Rep. Christian Unabia
27. Rep. Raymond Mendoza
28. Rep. Jericho Nograles
29. Rep. Yedda Romualdez
30. Rep. Eric Yap
31. Rep. Claudine Bautista
32. Rep. Esmael Mangudadatu
33. Rep. Enrico Pineda
34. Rep. Dulce Ann Hofer
35. Rep. Sharon Garin
36. Rep. Arnolfo Teves Jr.
37. Rep. Janette Garin
38. Rep. Paulo Duterte
39. Rep. J.F. Nograles (F. Hernandez)
40. Rep. Conrado III Estrella
41. Rep. Sandro Gonzales (Rep. P. Pichay)
42. Rep. Mike Defensor (Rep. R. Puno)
43. Rep. Allan Ty (Rep. A. Gonzales)
44. Rep. F. Matugas (Rep. J. Pimentel)
45. Rep. Luis Villafuerte Jr.
46. Rep. Raneo Abu
47. Rep. Dan Fernandez
48. Rep. Rodante Marcoleta
49. Rep. Henry Oaminal
50. Rep. Pablo John Garcia
51. Rep. Deogracuas ‘DV’ Savellano
52. Rep. F. Datol (Rep. M. Romero)
53. Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez
54. Rep. Jesus Crispin Remulla
55. Rep. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo
56. Rep. Cristal Bagatsin
57. Rep. Juan Pablo Bondoc
58. Rep. Elpidio Barzaga Jr.
59. Rep. Bernadette Herrera-Dy
60. Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo
61. Rep. A. Calixto (Rep. J. Lacson-Niel)
62. Rep. Wilter Palma II
63. Rep. Ma. Theresa Collante
64. Rep. Ria Christina Fariñas
65. Rep. Camille Villar
66. Rep. Roger G. Mercado
67. Rep. Sharee Ann Tan
68. Rep. Joseph Stephen Padyano
69. Rep. Bayani Fernando
70. Rep. Jose Singson Jr.

Below are the rest:

1. Rep. Alfredo Vargas
2. Rep. Micaela Vialogo

1. Rep. Alfredo Garbin Jr.

ABS-CBN’s franchise expired on May 4. The following day, the National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) issued a cease and desist order (CDO) directing the media giant to shut down operations.

Nearly a month later, another CDO was filed against the SKY Direct and the TV Plus channels—both of which are ABS-CBN’s subsidiaries.

ABS-CBN has 24 hours to file a motion for reconsideration, said Palawan 1st District Representative Franz Alvarez, the House legislative franchises panel chair. Doing so will require the House committee to hold another hearing before finalizing the judgement.