Non-motorized floats were paraded on Sunday, March 19, along the main thoroughfare of the Municipality of La Trinidad, Benguet – the Strawberry Capital of the Philippines.

The float parade was one of the highlights of the 36th Strawberry Festival which carried the theme, “Sustaining the Fruits of Trinidad’s Agro-eco Tourism.”

Fifteen manually operated pushed or pulled floats paraded the one kilometer stretch of the main highway and ended up at the Municipal Hall Quadrangle for final judging and public viewing.

La Trinidad Mayor Romeo Salda said they wanted to present beautiful floats that do not emit smoke or are environmentally- friendly.

Salda explained that during the executive meeting, it was suggested that the floats will be either pushed, pulled or animal drawn to avoid contributing to air pollution.

“We would like to show to the community that even with the fast development happening in La Trinidad, it is not too late to take simple actions to ensure clean air for the next generation,” Salda explained.

Aside from not emitting smoke, the floats were also made of recycled materials like plastic bottles, plastic caps, scrap metals, among others.

Out of the 15 competing floats, five were entered into the recyclable category while the other floats were entered in the floral category.

The winning entries will receive PHP50,000 (1st prize); PHP40,000 (2nd prize); PHP30,000 (3rd prize) and PHP10,000 as consolation prizes for the non-winners to augment their expenses in making the floats.

Salda said at least 5,000 people lined up the road to watch the floats pass, which is an annual crowd drawer of the festival.

Salda believed that there is still room for improvement to the concept of non-motorized floats but the local government unit (LGU) will have to consult leaders of the different barangays of La Trinidad.

“I believe we have achieved our goal to help reduce air pollution during our parade but we still have to look at the suggestions of the participants since this is the first non-motorized float parade,” Salda said.

La Trinidad is composed of sixteen barangays – Alapang, Alno, Ambiong, Bahong, Balili, Beckel, Betag, Bineng, Cruz, Lubas, Poblacion, Pico, Puguis, Shilan, Tawang and Wangal. (PNA) FPV/JBL/DBDJR/SSC
Photo Credit: